Sunday Program

General Sessions 6, 7, and 8 will be held in Oneill/Williams, Conference Center
Concurrent Sessions 9a, 9b, and 9c will be held in Oneill, Sousa/Joplin/Seeger, and William, Conference Center

7:30am - 8:30amBreakfast -- Oneill/Williams

SESSION 6: AMO for quantum information processing

Chair: Ivan Deutsch (University of New Mexico)
8:30am - 9:15amGiulia Semeghini (Harvard University) (invited)
Quantum simulation and computation with programmable Rydberg atom arrays
9:15am - 9:45amBethany Little (Sandia National Laboratories), Matthew Chow, Lambert Parazzoli, Jonathan Bainbridge, Grant Biedermann, Jongmin Lee, Brandon Ruzic, Constantin Brif, and Peter Schwindt
Entanglement-enhanced interferometry with neutral atoms
9:45am - 10:15amBreak -- Playwright's Conference Center Lobby

SESSION 7: NISQ algorithm and applications

Chair: Barbara Jones (IBM)
10:15am - 11:00amBirgitta Whaley (University of California, Berkeley) (invited)
Quantum control for quantum algorithm design
11:00am-11:30amNicholas Rubin (Google)
Demonstration of a large-scale quantum chemistry calculations using the Sycamore quantum processor
11:30am - 12:00pmMichael Foss-Feig (Honeywell), Andrew Potter, David Hayes
Matrix product state simulations on a quantum computer
12:00pm - 1:30pmLunch Buffet -- Oneill/Williams


Chair: David Allcock (University of Oregon)
1:30pm - 2:15pmJonathan Home (ETH, Zurich) (invited)
Encoded logical qubits and reservoir engineering in a trapped-ion mechanical oscillator
2:15pm - 2:45pmAlex Kato (University of Washington), Megan Ivory, Jennifer Lilieholm, Liudmila Zhukas, Xiayu Linpeng, Vasilis Niaouris, Maria Viitaniemi, Kai-Mei Fu, Boris Blinov
Trapping and manipulating 2D Coulomb crystals for quantum information processing
2:45pm - 3:15pmMaya Berlin-Udi (University of California Berkeley), Clemens Matthiesen, Alberto Alonso, Crystal Noel, Peter T. Lloyd, Vincenzo Lordi, Hartmut Häffner
Exploring electric-field noise mechanisms through treatments of an ion trap surface
3:15pm - 3:45pmBreak -- Playwright's Conference Center Lobby

SESSION 9a: Usage of NISQ devices -- Oneill

Chair: Pablo Poggi (University of New Mexico)
3:45pm - 4:15pmKevin Kuper (University of Arizona), Nathan Lysne, Pablo Poggi, Ivan Deutsch, Poul Jessen
Native and Trotter errors during intermediate-depth quantum simulations on a small, highly accurate quantum processor
4:15pm - 4:45pmAndrew Sornborger (Los Alamos National Laboratory), Cristina Cirstoiu, Zoe Holes, Joseph Iosue, Lukasz Cincio, Patrick Coles
Variational fast forwarding for quantum simulation beyond the coherence time
4:45pm - 5:15pmYukio Kawashima (1QB Information Technologies), "Takeshi Yamazaki, Valentin Senicourt, Rudi Plesch, Lee Huntington, Prakash Verma, Shunji Matsuura, Arman Zaribafiyan"
Scaling up quantum chemistry simulations using density matrix embedding theory
5:15pm - 5:45pmJaimie S. Stephens (Sandia National Laboratories), William Bolden; Ojas Parekh
A hybrid quantum approximate optimization algorithm incorporating classical heuristics
5:45pm - 6:15pmArik Avagyan (National Institute of Standards and Technology, Boulder), Hilma Vasconcelos, Scott Glancy, Emanuel Knill
State tomography with photon counting after a beam splitter

SESSION 9b: Quantum network and communication -- Williams

Chair: Markus Allgaier (University of Oregon)
3:45pm - 4:15pmSumeet Khatri (Louisiana State University), Corey T. Matyas, Aliza U. Siddiqui, Jonathan P. Dowling
Practical figures of merit and thresholds for entanglement distribution in quantum networks
4:15pm - 4:45pmMatthew DiMario (University of New Mexico CQuIC), Francisco Elohim Becerra
Coherent state phase estimation based on adaptive photon counting
4:45pm - 5:15pmEneet Kaur (Louisiana State University), Masahiro Takeoka, Mark M. Wilde, Wojciech Roga
Multipartite entanglement and secret key distribution in quantum networks
5:15pm - 5:45pmAshlesha Patil (University of Arizona), Mihir Pant, Don Towsley and Saikat Guha
Distance-independent rate for entanglement generation in a quantum network
5:45pm - 6:15pmRafael Alexander (University of New Mexico CQuIC), Carlton M. Caves
Quantum illumination, illuminated

SESSION 9c: Explorations in quantum information theory -- Sousa/Joplin/Seeger

Chair: Christopher Jackson (University of New Mexico)
3:45pm - 4:15pmPeter J. Love (Tufts University), Michael Kreshchuk, William Kirby, Gary Goldstein, Hugo Beauchemin
Simulating quantum field theory in the light-front formulation
4:15pm - 4:45pmSepehr Nezami (California Institute of Technology), Adam Brown Hrant Gharibyan Stefan Leichenauer Henry Lin Grant Salton Leonard Susskind Brian Swingle Michael Walter
Quantum gravity in the lab: teleportation by size and traversable wormholes
4:45pm - 5:15pmChris Sutherland (University of Southern California), Daniel Lidar Todd Brun
Non-Markovianity of the post-Markovian master equation
5:15pm - 5:45pmTzula Propp (University of Oregon), Steven J van Enk
Limits to single photon detection: Amplification
5:45pm - 6:15pmPaolo Zanardi (University of Southern California), Georgios Styliaris
Quantifying the incompatibility of quantum measurements Relative to a Basis
6:20pm - 7:00pmSteering Committee Meeting -- Studio B/C, Mezzanine
7:15pm - 9:30pmBanquet -- Oneill/Williams

SQuInT Chief Organizer
Akimasa Miyake, Associate Professor

SQuInT Co-Organizer
Brian Smith, Associate Professor UO

SQuInT Program Committee
Postdoctoral Fellows:
Markus Allgaier (UO OMQ)
Sayonee Ray (UNM CQuIC)
Pablo Poggi (UNM CQuIC)
Valerian Thiel (UO OMQ)

SQuInT Event Co-Organizers (Oregon)
Jorjie Arden
Holly Lynn

SQuInT Event Administrator (Oregon)
Brandy Todd

SQuInT Administrator (CQuIC)
Gloria Cordova
505 277-1850

SQuInT Founder
Ivan Deutsch, Regents' Professor, CQuIC Director

Tweet About SQuInT 2020!