Friday Program

General Sessions 6, 7, and 8 will be held in the Lumpkins Ballroom
Concurrent Sessions 9a, 9b, and 9c will be held in Lumpkins North, Lumpkins South, and Stiha Room

7:30am - 8:30amBreakfast (Mezzanine, Second Floor)

SESSION 6: Superconducting qubits

Chair: Seth Merkel (HRL Laboratories)
8:30am-9:15amSteven Girvin (Yale University)
Schroedinger's cat meets Maxwell's demon: Quantum error correction (that works)
9:15am-9:45amJuan Atalaya (University of California, Riverside), Shay Hacohen-Gourgy, Leigh S. Martin, Leonid P. Pryadko, Irfan Siddiqi, and Alexander N. Korotkov
Correlators in continuous measurement of non-commuting qubit observables and their applications
9:45am - 10:15amBreak (Mezzanine, Second Floor)

SESSION 7: Quantum optics

Chair: Alberto Marino (University of Oklahoma)
10:15am-11:00amBrian Smith (University of Oregon)
Control and measurement of single-photon pulses
11:00am-11:30amMatthew DiMario (University of New Mexico CQuIC), Francisco Becerra
A robust, single-shot measurement for binary phase-shift keyed coherent state discrimination
11:30am-12:00pmTimothy Woodworth (University of Oklahoma), Carla Hermann-Avigliano, Kam Wai Clifford Chan, Alberto Marino
Reaching the quantum Cramér-Rao bound of transmission measurements
12:00pm - 1:30pmLunch Buffet (La Terraza Banquet Room, Third Floor - capacity 140 & Stiha Room capacity 60 w/overflow seating in Mezzanine))


Chair: Kenneth Brown (Duke University)
1:30pm-2:15pmWesley C. Campbell (University of California, Los Angeles), David Hucul, Anthony Ransford, Michael Ip, Justin Christensen, Conrad Roman, Xueping Long, Andrew M. Jayich, and Eric Hudson
Combs and isotopic customization for trapped ion quantum computing
2:15pm-2:45pmEli Megidish (University of California Berkeley), Joe Broz, Nicole Greene, Hartmut Haeffner
Michelson-Morley analogue for electrons using trapped ions to test Lorentz symmetry
2:45-3:15pmPak Hong Leung (Duke University), Kevin Landsman, Caroline Figgatt, Norbert Linke, Kenneth Brown, Christopher Monroe
Optimized two-qubit gates in a long, linear ion crystal using continuous frequency modulation
3:15pm - 3:45pmBreak (Mezzanine, Second Floor)

SESSION 9a: AMO theory and applications (Lumpkins Ballroom South)

Chair: Rafael Alexander (University of New Mexico)
3:45pm-4:15pmJason Twamley (Macquarie University), Ben Baragiola (Royal Melbourne Institute for Technology)
Generating non-classical states of motion using spontaneous emission
4:15pm-4:45pmSwati Singh (Williams College), Laura DeLorenzo, Igor Pikovski and Keith Schwab
Detecting continuous gravitational waves with superfluid helium
4:45pm-5:15pmDavid Feder (University of Calgary), Jiawei Ji
The Fermi-Hubbard model for universal quantum computation
5:15pm-5:45pmEzad Shojaee (University of New Mexico), Christopher S. Jackson, Carlos A. Riofrio, Amir Kalev, Ivan H. Deutsch
Realizing the optimal tomography through a sequence of collective weak measurements
5:45pm - 6:15 pmDavide Girolami (Los Alamos National Laboratory), Chao Zhang, Benjamin Yadin, Zhi-Bo Hou, Huan Cao, Bi-Heng Liu, Yun-Feng Huang, Reevu Maity, Vlatko Vedral, Chuan-Feng Li, Guang-Can Guo
Detecting metrologically useful asymmetry and entanglement by a few local measurements

SESSION 9b: Error detection, correction, and verification (Lumpkins Ballroom North)

Chair: Travis Scholten (University of New Mexico)
3:45pm-4:15pmKarl Mayer (National Institute of Standards and Technology, Boulder), Emanuel Knill
Bounding the quantum process fidelity with a minimal set of input states
4:15pm-4:45pmKenneth Rudinger (Sandia National Laboratories), Mohan Sarovar, Dylan Langharst, Tim Proctor, Kevin Young, Erik Nielsen, Robin Blume-Kohout
Classifying and diagnosing crosstalk in quantum information processors
4:45pm-5:15pmTomas Jochym-O'Connor (California Institute of Technology), Nishad Maskara, Aleksander Kubica
Advantages of versatile neural-network decoders for topological codes
5:15pm-5:45pmRui Chao (University of Southern California), Ben Reichardt
Fault-tolerant quantum computation with few qubits
5:45pm-6:15pmGrant Salton (Stanford University), Jordan Cotler, Patrick Hayden, Brian Swingle, Michael Walter
Approximate operator algebra quantum error correction (decoding the hologram in AdS/CFT)

SESSION 9c: Frontiers of quantum information theory (Stiha Room)

Chair: Christopher Jackson (University of New Mexico)
3:45pm-4:15pmLucas Brady (University of California Santa Barbara), Wim van Dam
Evolution-time dependence in near-adiabatic quantum evolutions
4:15pm-4:45pmAnirban Narayan Chowdhury (University of New Mexico CQuIC), Yigit Subasi, Rolando Diego Somma
Improved quantum algorithms using linear combination of unitaries
4:45pm-5:15pmAlexander Meill (University of California San Diego), David Meyer
Entanglement constraints in various symmetric subspaces
5:15pm-5:45pmNinnat Dangniam (University of New Mexico CQuIC), Christopher Jackson, Christopher Ferrie, Carlton Caves
Quasi-probabilities on a fermionic phase space
5:45pm-6:15pmSiddhartha Das (Louisiana State University), Sumeet Khatri, Jonathan P. Dowling
Robust quantum network architectures and topologies for entanglement distribution
6:20pm - 7:00pmSteering Committee Meeting (Exchange Room, First Floor near Lobby)
7:15pm - 9:30pmBanquet (with Cash Bar) (Lumpkins Ballroom, Second Floor)

SQuInT Chief Organizer
Akimasa Miyake, Assistant Professor

SQuInT Co-Organizer
Mark M. Wilde, Assistant Professor LSU

SQuInT Administrator
Gloria Cordova
505 277-1850

SQuInT Founder
Ivan Deutsch, Regents' Professor

Tweet About SQuInT 2018!