Syllabus

Last Updated: January 30, 2014

Instructor :

 Dr. Douglas E. Fields

Office Location :

 Room 1148, Physics and Astronomy Building (Northwest Wing)

Office Phone :

 277-1466

Office Hours :

Mon. 1:00 - 2:00pm (CAPS, 3rd floor Zimmerman),

Tues. 11:00 - 12:00pm (CAPS, 3rd floor Zimmerman),

Wed. 2:00 - 3:00pm (CAPS, 3rd floor Zimmerman),

Thur. 1:00 - 2:00pm (CAPS, 3rd floor Zimmerman)

Email :

fields@unm.edu

Class Web Page :

http://panda.unm.edu/courses/fields/phys161/Phys161_SP14.html

Class Times :

Monday, Wednesday, Friday  10:00 - 10:50am

Class Location :

Regener Hall, Room 103

Graders:

Zhang (zmjiang@unm.edu)

Special Instructor :

Jim Davis (jchdavis@unm.edu)

SIís Problem Sessions :

Mon. 8:00pm - 9:00pm (Regener Hall 111)

Tues. & Thurs. 4:00pm - 5:00pm (Regener Hall 111)

Problems Class Times :

Section 1: Mon.  11:00 - 11:50 (Fields)

Section 3: Tues. 12:30 - 1:20 (Fields)

Text Book :

Young and Friedman University Physics 13th Edition, Pierson, Addison, Wesley

Grading :

See: Grades Page


Schedule of Classes:

Week/

Lecture

Date

Reading Assignment (sections in book)

Mastering

Physics

Due Before Class

Written Homework Due Before Class

Problems Class Schedule

Section Topics

Demonstrations

 

Mon. Jan. 20

No classes, MLK day

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tues. Jan. 21

 

 

 

 

 

1/1

Wed. Jan. 22

Introduction

 

 

Class policies, CPS, and Physics 160 Review

 

1/2

Fri. Jan. 24

17.1 - 17.4

#1

 

 

Temperature and Thermal Expansion

Bi-metal strip, water thermometer, ball and rings.

2/3

Mon. Jan. 27

17.5 - 17.7

#2

 

Ideal Gas Law

Heat, Heat Capacity and Transfer

Thermal conductivity and thermal conductivity of different metals.

 

Tues. Jan. 28

 

 

 

Ideal Gas Law

 

 

2/4

Wed. Jan. 29

18.1, 18.2

#3

Ideal Gas Equation, P-V Diagrams

Ideal Gas Law

2/5

Fri. Jan. 31

18.3 - 18.6

#4

 

Kinetic-Molecular Model

Molecular Motion Kit

3/6

Mon. Feb. 3

19.1 - 19.4

#5

#1

1st Law of Thermo

First Law of Thermodynamics

 

 

Tues. Feb. 4

 

 

 

1st Law of Thermo

 

 

3/7

Wed. Feb. 5

19.5 - 19.8

#6

 

 

Thermodynamic Processes

 

3/8

Fri. Feb. 7

20.1 - 20.5

#7

#2

Heat Engines and the Second Law of Thermodynamics

Stirling Engines

4/9

Mon. Feb. 10

20.6 - 20.8

#8

Exam 1 Review

Entropy and the Second Law of Thermodynamics

 

 

Tues. Feb. 11

 

 

 

Exam 1 Review

 

 

Wed. Feb. 12

17-20

#9

#3

 

Exam 1

 

4/10

Fri. Feb. 14

21.1 - 21.3

#10

 

Electric Charge, Insulators and Conductors, Coulomb`s Law

Glass and Plastic Rods with Silk and Fur, Suspended Copper Rod, Braun Electroscope

5/11

Mon. Feb. 17

21.4 - 21.5

#11

E-Field & Flux

Electric Fields and Calculating Electric Fields

 

 

Tues. Feb. 18

 

 

 

E-Field & Flux

 

 

5/12

Wed. Feb. 19

21.6 - 21.7

#12

 

 

Electric Field Lines and Dipoles

Grass Seed Electric Field with Van de Graaff Generator

5/13

Fri. Feb. 21

22.1 - 22.2

#13

#4

Electric Flux

 

6/14

Mon. Feb. 24

22.3

#14

Gauss`s Law

Gauss`s Law

Balloon, Butterfly Net

 

Tues. Feb. 25

 

 

 

Gauss`s Law

 

 

6/15

Wed. Feb. 26

22.4 - 22.5

#15

 

 

Applications of Gauss`s Law and Charged Conductors

 

6/16

Fri. Feb. 28

23.1 - 23.2

#16

#5

Electric Potential Energy

 

7/17

Mon. Mar. 3

23.3

#17

Electric Potential

Electric Potential and Calculations

 

 

Tues. Mar. 4

 

 

 

Electric Potential

 

 

7/18

Wed. Mar. 5

23.4 - 23.5

#18

 

 

Equipotential Surfaces and Gradients

 

7/19

Fri. Mar. 7

24.1 - 24.2

#19

#6

Capacitance and Capacitors

Parallel Plate Capacitor

8/20

Mon. Mar. 10

24.3

#20

Capacitance

Energy in Capacitors

Big Bang

 

Tues. Mar. 11

 

 

 

Capacitance

 

 

8/21

Wed. Mar. 12

24.4 - 24.6

#21

 

 

Dielectrics

Capacitor with Dielectric Sheet

Fri. Mar. 14

21-24

#22

#7

Exam 2

 

Mar. 16 - Mar. 23

Spring Break

9/22

Mon. Mar. 24

25.1 - 25.3

#23

Post-test Review

Current and Resistance

 

 

Tues. Mar. 25

 

 

 

Post-test Review

 

 

9/23

Wed. Mar. 26

25.4 - 25.5

#24

 

 

Electromotive Force and Power

Battery and light bulbs.

9/24

Fri. Mar. 28

26.1 - 26.2

#25

#8

Resistors & Kirchhoff's Rules

Series and Parallel Circuits and Big Circuit Board

10/25

Mon. Mar. 31

26.3

#26

Circuits 2

Electrical Measuring Instruments

Galvonometer, Ammeter and Voltmeter

 

Tues. Apr. 1

 

 

 

Circuits 2

 

 

10/26

Wed. Apr. 2

26.4

#27

 

 

R-C Circuits

RC Circuit

10/27

Fri. Apr. 4

27.1 - 27.3

#28

#9

Magnetic Fields & Magnetic Flux

Magnetic Field Lines and Magnetic Field from Currents

11/28

Mon. Apr. 7

27.4 - 27.9

#29

RC Circuits

Magnetic Force & Torque

Jumping Wire in Magnetic Field and E/M Tube

 

Tues. Apr. 8

 

 

 

RC Circuits

 

 

11/29

Wed. Apr. 9

28.1 - 28.2

#30

#10

 

Magnetic Fields from Moving Charges

 

11/30

Fri. Apr. 11

28.3 - 28.5

#31

 

Magnetic Fields from Currents & Loops

Magnetic Field from Currents

12/31

Mon. Apr. 14

28.6 - 28.8

#32

Magnetic Interactions

Ampere`s Law

 

 

Tues. Apr. 15

 

 

 

Magnetic Interactions

 

 

Wed. Apr. 16

25-28

#33

#11

 

Exam 3

 

12/32

Fri. Apr. 18

29.1 - 29.3

#34

 

Induction & Faraday`s Law

Induced EMF

13/33

Mon. Apr. 21

29.4 - 29.6

#35

 

Lenz`s Law

Induced EMF

Induction Coil with Magnet & Galvanometer and AC and DC Motors

 

Tues. Apr. 22

 

 

 

Lenz`s Law

 

 

13/34

Wed. Apr. 23

29.7

#36

 

 

Maxwell's Equations

 

13/35

Fri. Apr. 25

30.1 - 30.2

#37

#12

Mutual & Self Inductance

Open Transformer

14/36

Mon. Apr. 28

30.3 - 30.4

#38

Faraday`s Law

Magnetic Field Energy & R-L Circuits

LCR Circuit

 

Tues. Apr. 29

 

 

 

Faraday`s Law

 

 

14/37

Wed. Apr. 30

30.5 - 30.6

#39

 

 

L-C & L-R-C Circuits

LCR Circuit

14/38

Fri. May 2

31.1 - 31.2

#40

#13

 

Phasors & Alternating Current

LCR Circuit

15/39

Mon. May 5

31.3 - 31.5

#41

AC Circuits

LCR Circuit

 

Tues. May 6

 

 

 

 

 

15/40

Wed. May 7

31.6

#42

 

 

Transformers

Transformer

Fri. May 9

29-31

#43

#14

 

Exam 4

 

 

Fri. May 16

 

Final Exam 7:30 - 9:30am, Regener Hall Rm. 103


For comments or changes contact Douglas Fields.