Tuesday Program

7:30am - 8:30am Breakfast (East Atrium)

SESSION 10: Quantum metrology

Chair: Carlton M. Caves
8:30am - 9:15amLee McCuller (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), The LIGO laboratory squeezing team (invited)
Improving the sensitivity of Advanced LIGO with squeezed light
9:15am - 9:45amBaochen Wu (University of Colorado JILA), Graham P. Greve Chengyi Luo James K. Thompson
Towards spin-squeezed matter-wave interferometry
9:45am - 10:15amKatherine McCormick (University of Colorado), Jonas Keller, Shaun Burd, David Wineland, Andrew Wilson, Dietrich Leibfried
Sensing near the Heisenberg limit with a trapped-ion mechanical oscillator
10:15am - 10:45amBreak (East Atrium)

SESSION 11: Quantum chaos

Chair: Justin Dressel
10:45am - 11:30amShohini Ghose (Wilfrid Laurier University) (invited)
Chaos, stability and quantum-classical correspondence in spin systems
11:30am - 12:00pmPablo Poggi (University of New Mexico CQuIC), Manuel Muñoz-Arias, Poul Jessen, Ivan Deutsch
Feedback-based simulation of quantum nonlinear dynamics: The Quantum Kicked Top in an ensemble of two-level atoms
12:00pm - 1:30pmLunch Buffet (Alvarado D)

SESSION 12: Semiconductor qubits

Chair: Kai-Mei Fu
1:30pm - 2:15pmJason Petta (Princeton University), Xiao Mi, Felix Borjans, Xanthe Croot, Felix Schupp, Monica Benito, Stefan Putz, David Zajac, Jacob Taylor, and Guido Burkard (invited)
Towards microwave assisted spin-spin entanglement
2:15pm - 2:45pmTyler Keating (HRL Laboratories)
Spin-blockade spectroscopy of Si/SiGe quantum dots
2:45pm - 3:15pmBreak (East Atrium)

SESSION 13: Quantum characterization and tomography

Chair: Robin Blume-Kohout
3:15pm - 3:45pmScott Aaronson (University of Texas, Austin), Guy Rothblum
Gentle measurement of quantum states and differential privacy
3:45pm - 4:15pmKristine Boone (University of Waterloo), Arnaud Carignan-Dugas, Joel J. Wallman, Joseph Emerson
Randomized benchmarking under different gatesets
4:15pm - 4:45pmJohn Gamble (Microsoft Research), Olivia Di Matteo, Chris Granade, Nathan Wiebe
Operational, gauge-free quantum tomography
4:45pm - 5:15pmTimothy Proctor (Sandia National Laboratories), Kenneth Rudinger, Robin Blume-Kohout, Arnaud Carignan-Dugas, Erik Nielsen, Kevin Young
Randomized benchmarking of many-qubit devices
5:15pm - 5:30pmBreak (East Atrium)

SESSION 14: New intersections with high energy physics

Chair: Ivan Deutsch
5:30pm - 6:15pmPatrick Hayden (Stanford University) (invited)
Quantum error correction in quantum gravity

SQuInT Chief Organizer
Akimasa Miyake, Associate Professor

SQuInT Local Organizers
Rafael Alexander, Postdoctoral Fellow
Chris Jackson, Postdoctoral Fellow

SQuInT Administrator
Gloria Cordova
505 277-1850

SQuInT Assistant
Wendy Jay

SQuInT Founder
Ivan Deutsch, Regents' Professor, CQuIC Director

Tweet About SQuInT 2019!