Physics 262 Syllabus

Last Updated: August 23, 2017

Instructor :

Dr. Douglas E. Fields

Office Location :

Room 1148, Physics and Astronomy Building (Northwest Wing)

Office Hours :

Tuesday and Thursday by appointment (arrange by email)

Email :

fields@unm.edu

Class Web Page :

http://physics.unm.edu/Courses/Fields/Phys262/syllabus_FA.htm

Class Times :

Monday, Wednesday, Friday  12:00 - 12:50pm

Class Location :

Regener Hall, Room 103

Problems Class Times :

Tues. 2:00 - 2:50pm, Reg. 114 (Fields), Wed.  1:00 - 1:50pm, Reg. 114 (Fields), Thur. 9:00 - 9:50am, Reg. 114 (Fields)

Text Book :

Young and Friedman, University Physics, 14th Edition, Pierson, Addison, Wesley. You will also need Mastering Physics access.

Grading :

In-class clicker quizzes = 10%; MasteringPhysics Homework = 0%; Exams (Best 2/3) = 55%, Final = 35%


Schedule of Classes:

Week/

Lecture

Date

Reading Assignment

Mastering

Physics

Due Before Class

Lecture Topic and Link to Lecture (after class)

Demonstration

1/1

Mon. Aug. 21

14.1

 

1. Intro and Review of Periodic Motion

3A 40.10 - Harmonic Motion and Rotating Marker

1/2

Wed. Aug. 23

14.2, 14.3

2. Simple Harmonic Oscillators

3A 40.10 - Harmonic Motion and Rotating Marker, 3A 20.10 - Mass on a Spring, 3A 10.30 - Torsional Pendulum

1/3

Fri. Aug. 25

https://phet.colorado.edu/sims/normal-modes/normal-modes_en.html

Ch. 14 HW

3. Coupled Harmonic Oscillators

3A 70.30 - Coupled Pendulum (Small), 3A 10.20 - Three Pendulums

2/4

Mon. Aug. 28

15.1, 15.2

4. Mechanical Waves

3B 10.30 - Black Wave Table, 3B 10.35 - Red Wave Table, 3B 10.10 - Standing Waves

2/5

Wed. Aug. 30

15.3, 15.4, 15.5

5. Wave Velocity and the Wave Equation

3B 10.10 - Standing Waves

2/6

Fri. Sep. 1

15.6

6. Boundaries: Reflection, Refraction and Interference

3B 10.30 - Black Wave Table, 3B 10.35 - Red Wave Table, 3B 10.10 - Standing Waves

3/

Mon. Sep. 4

Labor Day

3/7

Wed. Sep. 6

15.7, 15.8

7. Standing Waves and Normal Modes

3B 10.10 - Standing Waves

3/8

Fri. Sep. 8

https://betterexplained.com/articles/an-interactive-guide-to-the-fourier-transform/ and

http://www.thefouriertransform.com/

Ch. 15 HW

8. Wave Pulses and Fourier Transforms

3B 10.10 - Standing Waves

4/9

Mon. Sep. 11

16.1, 16.2

 

9. Sound Waves

3B 20.20 - Anchored Slinky, 3B 22.20 - Flame Tube (Sonic Tube O' Fire)

4/10

Wed. Sep. 13

16.6, 16.7

 

10. Interference & Beats

3B 60.20 - Beats, 3B 45.15 - Ripple Tank

4/11

Fri. Sep. 15

16.8, 16.9

 

11. Doppler Effect and Shock Waves

3B 40.10 - Doppler Effect Arm, 3B 40.20 - Doppler Effect Ball

5/

Mon. Sep. 18

 

Ch. 16 HW

Exam 1 - Mechanical Waves

 

5/12

Wed. Sep. 20

32.1, 32.2, http://oyc.yale.edu/physics/phys-201/lecture-14

 

12. E&M Review, EM Wave from Maxwell`s Eqs.

3B 10.10 - Standing Waves

5/13

Fri. Sep. 22

 

 

13. Plane Waves & EM Waves in Matter

3B 10.10 - Standing Waves, The Visible Spectrum; PIRA: 6F 30.11

6/14

Mon. Sep. 25

 

 

14. Energy in EM Waves & Standing EM Waves

3B 10.10 - Standing Waves

6/15

Wed. Sep. 27

 

 

15. Rays, Reflection and Refraction

Title: Antennas; PIRA: 5N 10.30

Title: Black Wave Table; PIRA: 3B 10.30

Title: Red Wave Table; PIRA: 3B 10.35

Title: Optical Disk II; PIRA: 6A 40.20

6/16

Fri. Sep. 29

 

16. Total Internal Reflection and Dispersion - Rainbows

Title: Total Internal Reflection; PIRA: 6A 44.20

Title: Rainbow with Acrylic Sphere; PIRA: 6A 46.10

7/17

Mon. Oct. 2

17. Polarization and Scattering

Title: Antennas; PIRA: 5N 10.30

Title: Polarization; PIRA: 6H 10.40

Title: Brewster's Angle; PIRA: 6H 20.10

7/18

Wed. Oct. 4

 

18. Huygens`s Principle and Wave Fronts

Title: Folding Mirrors with Object; PIRA: 6A 10.40

Title: Large Spherical Mirror; PIRA: 6A 20.40

7/19

Fri. Oct. 6

 

 

19. Geometric Optics I

Title: Chalkboard Optics; PIRA: 6A 44.10

Title: Microscope; PIRA: 6A 60.30

Title: Camera Model; PIRA: 6A 65.10

8/20

Mon. Oct. 9

 

 

20. Interference I

Title: Laser with Interference Patterns; PIRA: 6D 20.40

Double-slit experiment.

Title: Ripple Tank; PIRA: 3B 45.15

8/21

Wed. Oct. 11

 

 

21. Interference II

Double-slit experiment.

8

Fri. Oct. 13

Fall Break

9/22

Mon. Oct. 16

 

 

22. Interference III

Title: Thin Film of Air; PIRA: 6D 30.30

Title: Film Interference; PIRA: 6D 30.20

Title: Michelson Interferometer with Laser; PIRA: 6D 40.10

9/23

Wed. Oct. 18

 

 

23. Diffraction I

Title: Diffraction with Laser Source (single-slit, razor edge); PIRA: 6C 20.20

9/24

Fri. Oct. 20

 

 

24. Diffraction II

Title: Diffraction with Laser Source (multiple-slit); PIRA: 6C 20.20

10/25

Mon. Oct. 23

 

 

25. Diffraction III

Title: Diffraction with Laser Source (single hole); PIRA: 6C 20.20

10/

Wed. Oct. 25

 

 

Exam 2 - Electromagnetic Waves

 

10/26

Fri. Oct. 27

 

 

26. Intro to Quantum and Photoelectric Effect

Title: Photoelectric Effect; PIRA: 7A 10.11

11/27

Mon. Oct. 30

 

 

27. Compton Effect and Pair Production

 

11/28

Wed. Nov. 1

 

 

28. Uncertainty

 

11/29

Fri. Nov. 3

 

 

29. Matter Waves

 

12/30

Mon. Nov. 6

 

 

30. Atomic Spectra

Title: Line Spectra and Student Gratings; PIRA: 7B 10.10

12/31

Wed. Nov. 8

 

31. Schrodinger Equation

 

12/32

Fri. Nov. 10

 

32. Trapped Particles

13/33

Mon. Nov. 13

 

 

33. Barrier Tunneling

Title: Total internal Reflection with Microwaves; PIRA: 6A 44.30

13/34

Wed. Nov. 15

 

 

34. 2- & 3-d Potentials

 

13/35

Fri. Nov. 17

 

 

35. Hydrogen Atom

 

14/36

Mon. Nov. 20

 

 

36. Electron Spin

 

14/

Wed. Nov. 22

 

 

Exam 3 - Quantum Mechanics

 

14/

Fri. Nov. 24

Thanksgiving Break

15/37

Mon. Nov. 27

37.1, 37.2

 

37. Galilean Relativity & Special Relativity

 

15/38

Wed. Nov. 29

37.3

 

38. Time Dilation

 

15/39

Fri. Dec. 1

37.4

 

39. Lorentz Contractions

 

16/40

Mon. Dec. 4

37.5, 37.6

 

40. Lorentz Transformations

 

16/41

Wed. Dec. 6

37.7

 

41. Relativistic Momenta

 

16/42

Fri. Dec. 8

37.8

42. Relativistic Energy & Four-Momentum

 

Fri. Dec 15

Final Exam 10:00 12:00am, Regener Hall Rm. 103


For comments or changes contact Douglas Fields.